TEACHERS DISCUSSION FORUM
rudely awakened in SZ - 2009-03-26

My, my did I have an eye-opening experience in Shenzhen today! I'm very new to the city. Been here about a month and a half.. Found myself out of work and looking and decided to explore every option out there, including kindergarten even though I'm not real crazy about it. I hooked up with a woman who describes herself as an "agent." (I can practically HEAR the eyes rolling out there.) She asked if i'd ever taught KG and I confidently responded "many times." Anyway, i've been in China for almost 6 years and have taught many, many KG classes. But when I walked into one kindergarten today I really discovered that I wasn't in Kansas anymore. For starters I encountered no fewer than 4 other foreigners already working there, all men, and 2 of them quite young, maybe in their 20's. I'd never seen a KG with so many full-time foreigners. Most of the places I've been the school had one that usually worked only a few hours a week. And they were darn thankful to have that one and had pictures of him or her plastered all over the place. I was asked to do a "demo" class and they handed me a book they were currently using. It was a disaster and I felt like an imbecile. I was watched by 3 of the Chinese staff and it was plain from the start they expected more from me than I was providing. In every other Chinese city in which I've worked the KG was so happy to have a flesh and blood foreigner that if I successfully strung a few English words together I was hired on the spot and paid a handsome hourly wage for doing next to nothing. Not in Shenzhen, baby!